Skip to main content
Normal View

Vótáil 100

In 2018, the Houses of the Oireachtas commemorated the 100th anniversary of the parliamentary vote for women in Ireland.

From the Lepracaun Cartoon Monthly, 1914, courtesy of Dublin City Library & Archive

1918 was the first time Irish women were permitted by law to vote and stand in parliamentary elections.

1918 was also the year in which the first woman was elected to the British Parliament at Westminster. Countess de Markievicz, who represented a Dublin constituency, never took her seat at Westminster. Instead, she joined the revolutionary first Dáil, becoming the first female TD.


Watch documentaries, interviews and video footage of Vótáil100 events.

Suffrage and the national question

Courtesy of Dublin City Library & Archive

Suffrage and the national question

The suffrage campaign in Ireland was complicated by the national question, which dominated Irish politics in the early 20th century. The enormous focus first on Home Rule and later on total separation from the United Kingdom pushed suffrage down the political agenda.

Pioneers of parliamentary politics

Courtesy of the National Library of Ireland

Pioneers of parliamentary politics

As well as winning the right to vote in parliamentary elections, from 1918 women were permitted to stand for election. Find out about some of the first women who took part in parliamentary politics in Ireland.

Timeline - the road to the vote

Díospóireacht na nÓg

In April, the 16 winners of the Oireachtas all-island school competition took part in a debate in the Seanad Chamber on the legacy of the suffrage movement.


Members of the Vótáil 100 committee
Our thanks to the following people for their contribution to Vótáil 100
Díospóireacht na nÓg mentors

Contact details

Liam O'Brien
Houses of the Oireachtas
Leinster House
Dublin 2

D02 XR20
+353 (0)1 618 4484
+353 (0)86 189 5098