Tuesday, 10 June 2014

Ceisteanna (368)

Lucinda Creighton


368. Deputy Lucinda Creighton asked the Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources if he will list in tabular form all legislation and specific sections therein that refer to powers delegated to the Minister for State with special responsibility for the NewERA project; if he will detail the title of the civil servants who are responsible for reporting directly to said Minister of State and what they are responsible for; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [24613/14]

Amharc ar fhreagra

Freagraí scríofa (Ceist ar Communications)

At my request, the Government delegated certain of my statutory functions in relation to energy and natural resources matters to the Minister of State at my Department, Fergus O'Dowd, who is also Minister of State at the Department of Environment, Community and Local Government. The powers (other than the power to prosecute an offence) and duties conferred on me by or under the enactments, provisions of enactments and the Regulations specified in the appended Schedule of Statutory Instrument, No. 631 of 2011, Energy and Natural Resources (Delegation of Ministerial Functions) (No.2 ) Order 2011, were delegated to Minister of State O'Dowd in December 2011. A number of staff in senior management positions in the Natural Resources area of my Department work closely with Minister of State O'Dowd while reporting through the normal Civil Service reporting structure up to Secretary General level. Details of these staff are appended for the Deputy's information.


Part 1


Geological Survey Act 1845 (8 & 9 Vict. c. 63), Shannon Fisheries Acts 1935 and 1938, Minerals Development Acts 1940 to 1999, Foyle Fisheries Acts 1952 to 1983, Inland Fisheries Acts 1959 to 2010, Petroleum and Other Minerals Development Act 1960 (No. 7 of 1960), Continental Shelf Acts 1968 to 1995, Ordnance Survey Ireland Act 2001 (No. 43 of 2001), Foyle and Carlingford Fisheries Act 2007 (No. 17 of 2007), Petroleum (Exploration and Extraction) Safety Act 2010 (No. 4 of 2010)

Part 2

Provisions of Enactments

Sections 11 and 16 of the Electricity (Supply) (Amendment) Act 1945 (No. 12 of 1945)

Sections 5, 6 and 10 of the Electricity (Supply) (Amendment) Act 1961 (No. 2 of 1961)

Section 40 of the Gas Act 1976 (No. 30 of 1976)

Sections 17(5) and 23(3) of the Wildlife Act 1976 (No. 39 of 1976)

Section 32 of the Wildlife (Amendment) Act 2000 (No. 38 of 2000)

Part 9 of the Energy (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2006 (No. 40 of 2006)

Part 3


Regulations 42 and 53 of the European Communities (Birds and Natural Habitats) Regulations 2011 (S.I. No. 477 of 2011)

Regulations 3, 12(8), 16(2) and (11) (inserted by the European Communities (Water Policy) (Amendment) Regulations 2005 (S.I. No. 413 of 2005)) of the European Communities (Water Policy) Regulations 2003 (S.I. No. 722 of 2003)

Regulations 18, 19, 20 and 21 (other than for costs) of the European Communities Environmental Objectives (Surface Waters) Regulations 2009 (S.I. No. 272 of 2009)

Regulation 9 of the European Communities Environmental Objectives (Freshwater Pearl Mussel) Regulations 2009 (S.I. No. 296 of 2009)

Regulations 4 and 6 of the European Communities Environmental Objectives (Groundwater) Regulations 2010 (S.I. No. 9 of 2010)

Department of Communications Energy and Natural Resources

Michael Manley, Assistant Secretary, Natural Resources

Ciarán Ó hÓbáin, Principal Officer, Petroleum Affairs Division

Frank Sheridan, Principal Officer, Exploration & Mining Division

Denis Maher, Principal Officer, Inland Fisheries Division

Koen Verbruggen, Director, Geological Survey Ireland