Tuesday, 12 November 2019

Ceisteanna (248)

Denis Naughten


248. Deputy Denis Naughten asked the Minister for Justice and Equality the number of vacant desk spaces available in accommodation allocated to his Department in Civil Service accommodation outside Dublin city; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [46298/19]

Amharc ar fhreagra

Freagraí scríofa (Ceist ar Justice)

The Department of Justice and Equality occupies three offices outside of Dublin: in Tipperary town, Roscrea and Killarney.

- The Residency Division of the Immigration Service is based in Roscrea, Co Tipperary where three out of a total of 20 desks are vacant.

- The Financial Management Unit of my Department shares a building with the National Shared Services Office in Killarney, Co Kerry, where 105 desks are occupied by Departmental staff and none are vacant.

- The Citizenship Division of the Immigration Service is located in Tipperary town. A wing of this building is due to be occupied by a Garda branch shortly. The 36 remaining desks are all occupied by staff from my Department and there are no empty desks.

Additionally, some workspaces in these offices are allocated as hot desks or permanently reserved for printing facilities. On that basis, they are not considered empty.