Wednesday, 20 November 2019

Ceisteanna (138)

Fiona O'Loughlin


138. Deputy Fiona O'Loughlin asked the Minister for Justice and Equality the political advisers used by Ministers and Ministers of State in his Department since the commencement of this Government; the commencement and cessation dates in each case; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [47968/19]

Amharc ar fhreagra

Freagraí scríofa (Ceist ar Justice)

Ms. Sarah Kavanagh and Ms. Caroline Murphy are currently employed as special advisers in my Department.  Ms. Kavanagh serves as a political and policy adviser and Ms. Murphy serves as a communications adviser.

Ms. Kavanagh was appointed on 15 June 2017, following my appointment as Minister for Justice and Equality.  Ms. Murphy was appointed on 10 April, 2018, replacing Mr. Tom Fabozzi who served as a special adviser in my Department from 15 June 2017 until 6 April 2018. 

Having regard to the significant legislative programme that I am responsible for, Mr. Robert Bourke BL was appointed to the position of legal adviser in my Department from March to December 2018. 

During the period of office of Ms. Frances Fitzgerald as Minister for Justice and Equality, Ms. Marion Mannion, Mr. Stephen O’Shea and Mr. Matthew Lynch served as special advisers. All were appointed in May 2016 and served in their respective roles until June 2017.   

There are no special advisers appointed to the Minister of State in my Department, Mr. David Stanton T.D.

Mr. Pat Breen T.D. is the Minister for State for Data Protection at my Department and the Department of the Taoiseach. He is also Minister of State at the Department of Enterprise and Innovation and the Department of Employment Affairs and Social Protection.  

Mr. Finian McGrath T.D. is the Minister of State with my Department with special responsibility for Disability issues. He is also Minister of State at the Department of Employment Affairs and Social Protection and the Department of Health.  

The staffing arrangements in respect of both Minister of State Breen and Minister of State McGrath are the responsibility of their respective parent Departments.