Tuesday, 29 September 2020

Ceisteanna (308)

Mairéad Farrell


308. Deputy Mairéad Farrell asked the Minister for Finance if a list of members of a group (details supplied) in its current formation will be provided. [27347/20]

Amharc ar fhreagra

Freagraí scríofa (Ceist ar Finance)

In 2015 a strategy was launched called IFS2020: A Strategy for Ireland’s International Financial Services Sector 2015–2020.  New implementation structures were established under that Strategy and the Clearing House Group no longer exists.  This committee structure continues under the most recent Strategy for the development of the international financial services sector to 2025 ‘Ireland for Finance’ (2019).  The new committee structure is a modernisation to reflect the profile and characteristics of the sector as well as new models of engagement which have worked well in driving growth and job creation through the Action Plan for Jobs and other successful government strategies.  Furthermore, given the nationwide nature of international financial services the new structures are better placed to promote the continued regional development of the industry than the IFSC Clearing House Group.

Under the new structures, an Industry Advisory Committee (IAC) represents the industry expertise and a High Level Implementation Committee (HLIC) which is a senior group of civil and public servants represents the public sector.  The public sector High Level Implementation Committee meets quarterly as a standalone committee. It and the Industry Advisory Committee meet jointly as the Ireland for Finance Joint Committee each quarter.

Minister of State Sean Fleming TD at the Department of Finance chairs the public sector High Level Implementation Committee, which consists of senior officials in the Departments of the Taoiseach, of Finance, of Business, Enterprise and Innovation, of Education and Skills, and of Foreign Affairs and Trade, and the CEOs of Enterprise Ireland and the IDA. The High Level Implementation Committee provides strategic leadership to continue the development of the sector and ensures coordinated, timely and effective implementation of the strategy.

The Industry Advisory Committee consists of executives from Irish and international firms representing all sub-sectors in the international financial services sector. The Industry Advisory Committee supports the High Level Implementation Committee in implementing the strategy and in monitoring and reporting on progress. 

A list of members of the public sector High-Level Implementation Committee and the Industry Advisory Committee who meet together as the Joint Committee is set out below: 

Current members of the High-Level Implementation Committee (HLIC)




Seán Fleming TD

Minister of State (chair)


Martin Fraser

Secretary General


Orlaigh Quinn

Secretary General

D/Enterprise, Trade and Employment

Jim Breslin

Secretary General

D/Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science

Niall Burgess

Secretary General

D/Foreign Affairs

Michael McGrath

Assistant Secretary General

Financial Services Division D/Finance  

Julie Sinnamon


Enterprise Ireland

Martin Shanahan


IDA Ireland

Karen Cullen

Secretary to HLIC

Head, International Financial Services Unit D/Finance

Current Members of the Industry Advisory Committee (IAC):



Nominated By

Deirdre O'Connor

International Member

(public competitive process)

Ruth McCarthy

Fexco Corporate Payments

Enterprise Ireland

Aidan Holton


Insurance Ireland

Declan Lynch

Elavon Financial Services

Banking & Payments Federation Ireland/Fintech and Payments Association of Ireland

Derek Kehoe

BNP Paribas Group

Banking & Payments Federation Ireland/Federation of   International Banks in Ireland

Joe Duffy

BNY Mellon

Financial Services Ireland

Cecilia Ronan


Financial Services Ireland

Ann Prendergast (temporary   replacement for Victoria Brown of Aberdeen Standard Investments)

State Street

Irish Association of Investment Managers

Olwyn Alexander


Irish Funds

Tadhg Young

State Street

Irish Funds

David Swan

SMBC Aviation Capital

Aircraft Leasing Ireland

Teresa O'Flynn


Sustainable finance rep

Gary Conroy

TransferMate Global Payments

Enterprise Ireland

Andrea Reynolds 

Swoop Funding

Enterprise Ireland

Barrie O'Connell


Chartered Accountants Ireland

Maurice Crowley

Banking & Payments Federation Ireland (Secretariat)

IAC Secretariat (Banking & Payments Federation Ireland)