Léim ar aghaidh chuig an bpríomhábhar

Dáil Éireann díospóireacht -
Tuesday, 7 May 1985

Vol. 358 No. 1

Written Answers. - Non-Statutory Bodies and Committees.


asked the Minister for Agriculture the names of the members of each non-statutory body or committee under the aegis of his Department established since 1 January 1980; the date of the first appointment of each such body or committee; the terms of reference or objectives in each case; and the date on which each body or committee reported or the date on which a report of each such body or committee is expected.

Following is the information requested:


Names of Members

Date of First Appointment

Terms of Reference/Objectives

Date/Expected Date of Report

An Comhairle Oiliúna Talmhaíochta/An Foras Talúntais Review Group

Mr. D. Cashman (Chairman)

11 April, 1985

To review the operation of the advisory and training services provided by An Chomhairle Oiliúna Talmhaíochta and the research services provided by An Foras Talúntais with a view to establishing the fullest possible degree of co-ordination between the services and ensuring that the resources that can be made available are used to the best advantage in helping the agricultural industry to expand, and to make recommendations in relation to these matters.

Autumn 1985

Mr. D. McCarthy

Mr. F. Riordan

Mr. P. Lynch

Dr. P. Power

Mr. B. Brady

Commission of Inquiry into the Thoroughbred Horse-Breeding Industry

Lord Killanin (Chairman)

September 1982

To examine all aspects of the throughbred horse-breeding industry, including horse racing, and to make recommendations for its future development.

Autumn 1985

Mr. R.J. Barry

Mr. James Bolger

Mr. John J. Byrne

Mr. Standish Collen

Mr. Seán Collins

Mr. Oliver Freaney

Mr. Kevin Frost

Mr. Jonathan Irwin

Mr. Barton Kilcoyne

Mr. Denis McCarthy

Professor Michael McCormac

Mr. John Magnier

Mr. Patrick O'Keeffe

Mr. Patrick Walsh

Horticultural Development Group

Mr. Alan Navratil (Chairman)

April 1980, Reappointed May 1983 †

To identify areas of development in the horticultural industry and to make recommendations to the Minister on the measures needed to achieve such development as well as on specific programmes and projects. The Group should give special attention to the potential for creating new jobs in the industry with particular reference to enabling trained young people to become established in commercial production.

Six reports presented between January 1981 and October 1984

Mr. Michael Mahon

Mr. Liam Ryan

Mr. Colm Warren

Mr. B.G. Doyle

Mr. I.J. Gibbons

Mr. Michael J. Byrne

Dr. D.W. Robinson

Mr. Lorcan O'Toole

Dr. Michael J. Hennerty

Mr. Thomas Kilkenny

Mr. Matthew Scully

Ms. Noreen Barrett

Ms. E. Doyle (replaced by Mr. Hugh Murphy)

Dr. E. Attwood

Mr. Eoin Carden

Working Group to Prepare a Four-Year Plan for Agriculture

Mr. Donal Creedon (Chairman)

May, 1982

To prepare a four-year plan for the development of Irish agriculture including, in particular, the sustained expansion of agricultural production leading to the improvement of farm incomes, and bearing in mind the national economic situation and Ireland's membership of the EEC.

May 1984

Mr. Seán Donnelly

Mr. E.P. Cunningham

Mr. Noel Cawley

Mr. Anthony Leddy

Mr. Michael Ferris

Mr. Seymour Crawford

Mr. Bart Brady

Mr. Joseph Higgins

Mr. Eugene Regan

Mr. Patrick Delaney

Mr. Donal Murphy

Mr. Jim Joyce

Dr. E.A. Attwood

† The names shown are those of the Committee appointed in May 1983. The Group was disbanded in December 1984.