Tuesday, 3 December 2019

Ceisteanna (156)

Michael McGrath


156. Deputy Michael McGrath asked the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform the members of the Thirty-second Dáil Éireann and Twenty-fifth Seanad Éireann that have drivers paid for by the Exchequer in each year since 2016, in tabular form; the number of drivers employed for this purpose; the salary costs; the amount claimed by way of mileage by the member concerned in circumstances in which their own vehicle is being used; and if he will make a statement on the matter. [49697/19]

Amharc ar fhreagra

Freagraí scríofa (Ceist ar Public)

The Houses of the Oireachtas Commission has primary responsibility for overseeing the expenditure of the Houses, which includes paying all salaries and expenses for members of Dáil Éireann and Seanad Éireann.

Since 2011, Ministers, except for the Taoiseach, Tánaiste and the Minister for Justice and Equality, no longer have access to state cars or Garda drivers and use their own cars and claim mileage instead.

Under the instructions to Personnel Officers on Ministerial Appointments for the 32nd Dáil, which were issued by my Department in 2016, Ministers and Ministers of State may appoint two Civilian Drivers. The selection of these appointees is a matter for each individual Minister or Minister of State.

The current salary for Civilian Drivers effective from 1 September 2019 is €675.62 per week. Civilian drivers who are members of the Single Pension Scheme are paid the Personal Pension Contribution rate of €710.13 per week. Travel and subsistence payments are made at the appropriate Civil Service rates in respect of certified official travel and subject to the usual Civil Service regulations which apply in relation to travel and subsistence.

The information sought by the Deputy in respect of each Department should be the subject of separate questions to the relevant Ministers. In terms of the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform, both Minister of State O’Donovan and I have appointed two civilian drivers in line with the aforementioned instructions to Personnel Officers.

The mileage claimed by the relevant Ministers at this Department where personal vehicles were used for certified official travel since the appointment of the Government in 2016 are set out in the following table.






Paschal Donohoe, T.D.


Eoghan Murphy, T.D.



Paschal Donohoe, T.D.


Patrick O’Donovan, T.D.


Eoghan Murphy, T.D.



Paschal Donohoe, T.D.


Patrick O’Donovan, T.D.

2019 (to date)


Paschal Donohoe, T.D.


Patrick O’Donovan, T.D.