23 Samh 2011, 12.05

The Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, Eamon Gilmore, TD, will discuss the outcomes of the most recent plenary meeting of the North South Ministerial Council at the Joint Committee on the Implementation of the Good Friday Agreement tomorrow, Thursday, 24 November at 5:15p.m.

The Irish Government delegation was led by the Taoiseach Enda Kenny, TD along with the Tánaiste, while the Northern Ireland Executive delegation was led by the First Minister, the Rt Hon Peter Robinson MLA and the deputy First Minister, Martin McGuinness MP MLA.

Welcoming the Tánaiste to his first meeting of the Committee in the current Dáil, Chairman Dominic Hannigan, TD said: “Exploring the avenues for deeper North-South Cooperation is a priority for this Committee. This is a timely opportunity to discuss with the Tánaiste the outcomes of the 18 November plenary meeting of the North South Ministerial Council.

“The Committee looks forward to hearing first-hand the practical areas of cooperation discussed at the plenary session. These include how best overcome the shared economic challenges contributing to low economic growth on the island.

“The Committee also wishes to explore with the Tánaiste the Council’s discussions around the emerging challenges in third level education, progress on the A5 road project and priming the agri-food and tourism sectors for job creation and growth.”

The meeting takes place at 5:15 p.m. tomorrow Thursday 24 November in Committee Room 3, Leinster House. Click here to follow committee proceedings live.

Access Joint Communiqué on the Council's website.
For further information please contact:
Paul Hand,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 4484
F: +3531 618 4551
Members of the Committee:
Deputies Seán Conlan,  Seán Crowe, Clare Daly, Regina Doherty, Alan Farrell, Frank Feighan, Martin Ferris, Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan, Dominic Hannigan,  Michael P. Kitt, Joe McHugh, Aodhán Ó Ríordáin, Joe O’Reilly, Brendan Smith and Joanna Tuffy.
Senators Jim D’Arcy, Maurice Cummins, Martin McAleese, Mary Moran, Mary White.
Chairman: Dominic Hannigan, TD Vice-Chairman: Joe O'Reilly, TD