28 Samh 2011, 17.09

Members of the Oireachtas Committee on Communications, Natural Resources and Agriculture will hear from community groups with deeply held views on Ireland’s offshore exploration tomorrow Tuesday 29 November at 2p.m.

Speaking before the meeting, Committee Chairman, Andrew Doyle, TD said:  “This timely meeting will allow committee members engage with community groups representing a range of opinion on the Corrib gas project in Co Mayo.

“Offshore exploration of oil and gas resources is a priority issue for this Committee and we look forward to hearing first-hand from people on the ground in Co Mayo. We intend to allow community groups both for and against have their say on construction of the Erris gas pipeline.

“Pobal le Chéile and Pobal Chill Chomáin oppose the construction of the pipeline while Council for the West and Pro Gas Mayo favour the pipeline’s construction. The Committee intends to explore with all four groups their sincerely held positions.”

The meeting will take place in Committee Room 3. Click to follow the proceedings live.

The meeting follows presentations from The Irish Offshore Operators’ Association (IOOA) the SIPTU trade union on 22 November.

For further information please contact:
Paul Hand,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2
P: +3531 618 4484
F: +3531 618 4551

Committee Membership
Tom Barry, Fine Gael
Michael Colreavy, Sinn Fein
Pat Deering, Fine Gael
Robert Dowds, Labour Party
Andrew Doyle, Fine Gael
Martin Ferris, Sinn Fein
Noel Harrington, Fine Gael
Martin Heydon, Fine Gael
Colm Keaveney, Labour Party
Mattie McGrath, Independent
Michael McNamara, Labour Party
Michael Moynihan, Fianna Fail
Éamon Ó Cuív, Fianna Fail
John O’Mahony, Fine Gael
Thomas Pringle, Independent
Michael Comiskey, Fine Gael
Paschal Mooney, Fianna Fail
Pat O’Neill, Fine Gael
Mary Ann O’Brien, Labour Party
Brian Ó Domhnaill, Fianna Fail
John Whelan, Labour Party