10 Noll 2019, 09.14

The Joint Committee on Transport, Tourism & Sport will meet tomorrow for two separate sessions, with the topic of Minority Sports and Women's Participation in Sport the first item for discussion.

Wednesday’s meeting in Committee Room 4, Leinster House at 1.30pm will hear from Representatives from Hockey Ireland and the Women's National Field Hockey Team.

Hockey Ireland is the National Governing Body for the sport of field hockey in Ireland. The Association is responsible for the management and overall development of all areas of the sport. The Association was formed in 2000, as a result of the merger of the two pre-existing Unions which governed men's and women's hockey separately.

The Football Association of Ireland, including the entire Board of the Association, have been invited to Leinster House for the second session at 4.30pm.

Committee Chair Fergus O’Dowd TD said: “The Committee very much looks forward to Wednesday’s engagement, Hockey Ireland’s Women's team have enjoyed considerable success to-date both at the 2018 Women's Hockey World Cup, and in recent weeks as they qualified for the 2020 Olympics. Later-on in the afternoon, the Committee will hear the FAI as we discuss the restoration of funding to grassroots soccer across the country.”

Furthermore, in eight days’ time, on Wednesday, December 18 at 10.30am, the Joint Committee on Transport, Tourism & Sport will discuss restoration of funding to grassroots soccer with  Shane Ross T.D, Minister for Transport, Tourism & Sport, and the CEO of Sport Ireland, John Treacy.

Committee proceedings can be viewed live

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media enquiries

Alan Neary,
Tithe an Oireachtais,
Oifigeach Cumarsáide,
Teach Laighean, 
Baile Átha Cliath 2
+353 1 618 4743
+353 86 010 7500
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee membership


Solidarity - People Before Profit

Fianna Fáil

Social Democrats

Fergus O'Dowd - Cathaoirleach

Fine Gael

Fianna Fáil

Fine Gael


Fianna Fáil

Fine Gael

Fine Gael