12 DFómh 2021, 13.15

The Joint Committee on Tourism, Culture, Arts, Sport and Media will meet tomorrow, Wednesday, 13 October, for an engagement with the Chairperson Designate of the National Library Board, followed by a separate discussion on working conditions and skills shortages in the hospitality and tourism sector.

The meeting will begin at 1.30pm in Committee Room 3 of Leinster House with a discussion with Eoin McVey on his key priorities as the newly-appointed Chair of the National Library Board.

This will be followed at 2.35pm with a meeting with representatives of the Irish Congress of Trade Unions (ICTU), Unite the Union, the Services Industrial Professional and Technical Union (SIPTU) and the National University of Ireland Galway (NUIG) regarding the hospitality and tourism sector.

Committee Cathaoirleach Deputy Niamh Smyth said: “One of the roles of Oireachtas Committees is to meet with Chairpersons Designate of public bodies ahead of their taking up the position and we welcome this opportunity to meet with Mr McVey to hear his priorities for the National Library Board.

“Our second session will focus on Ireland’s hospitality and tourism sector. Since the public health restrictions imposed to tackle Covid-19 were eased, we have heard from hospitality and tourism businesses about difficulties in recruiting and retaining staff. We look forward to hearing the views of the unions and NUIG on working conditions and skills shortages in hospitality and tourism and how these issues can be overcome.”

The Joint Committee on Tourism, Culture, Arts, Sport and Media has 14 Members, nine from the Dáil and five from the Seanad.

The meeting in Committee Room 3 can be viewed live on Oireachtas TV.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media enquiries

Robert Kennedy-Cochrane,
Tithe an Oireachtais,
Oifigeach Cumarsáide,
Teach Laighean, 
Baile Átha Cliath 2
+353 1 618 4149
+353 85 870 7436
Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee membership


Fine Gael


Sinn Féin

Sinn Féin

Niamh Smyth - Cathaoirleach

Fianna Fáil


Fianna Fáil

Fianna Fáil

Labour Party