13 DFómh 2021, 16.21

The Joint Committee on Disability Matters will discuss From Accessibility to Universal Design when it meets, Thursday, 7 October 2021.The Committee will meet at 9:45 am in Committee Room 4 of Leinster House.

The Committee will meet representatives from:

  • Irish Wheelchair Association - Tony Cunningham, Director of Volunteering and Housing, Joan Carthy Advocacy Manager, Rosaleen Lally, National Access Programme Manager and Eoin O'Herlihy Managing Director and Senior Accessibility Consultant and Trainer at (OHAC)
  • Changing Places Ireland - Karen Smith, Advocate, Jean Richardson Manager and Michelle Merrigan Communications Manager
  • Bernadette Egan - Architect, and member of the RIAI Universal Design Task Force

 In advance of the meeting Committee Cathaoirleach Deputy Michael Moynihan said: “The Committee will speak with representatives on accessibility and how it translates to universal design. It can be argued that true accessibility for people with a disability is when design of everyday spaces, homes, products, facilities, technologies, and services are universally obtainable and usable by all.”

The Cathaoirleach went on to say: “The way we design and build our homes, and the regulations that govern, should allow people with disabilities the option, for as long as possible, to stay in their home and use it to its full potential. Having this debate with stakeholders, architects and relevant bodies will be crucial to make these changes possible.

The Committee looks forward to discussing these topics and the wider debate on accessibility and universal design with our guests.”

The meeting in Committee Room 4 can be viewed live on the Oireachtas website.

The Joint Committee on Disability Matters has 14 Members, nine from the Dáil and five from the Seanad.

More information can be found on the dedicated Committee Webpage. Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

Media enquiries

Jason Kiernan

Tithe an Oireachtais,
Oifigeach Cumarsáide,
Teach Laighean, 
Baile Átha Cliath 2

+353 1 618 4486

+353 86 701 5235 



Twitter: @OireachtasNews

Committee membership


Social Democrats


Fine Gael

Green Party

Michael Moynihan - Cathaoirleach

Fianna Fáil

Sinn Féin


Fianna Fáil

Fianna Fáil